Did they tweak the connection?

Call of Duty Black Ops II Playstation 3

Did they tweak the connection?

Has anyone noticed a difference in the past week or so in the lagginess when it comes to cqc i've played maybe an hour all week cause i just end up shutting it off. Im losing all my gunbattles and not even getting hitmarkers half the time. The game was playable (at least for me) since launch so i dont know what the fuck. Its weird. I dont even wanna play it anymore...

Level 6
Likes: 22
Posts: 195
Registered: ‎12-09-2011
17 REPLIES

Re: Did they tweak the connection?

in reply to fingolfin33

There hasnt been a patch but alot of playlist updates. I find my lag is way better then when it first came out. But there is lobbies where the lag is so bad Im just skipping and jumping along.. It depends whos hosting...

Level 6
Likes: 42
Posts: 201
Registered: ‎18-08-2012

Re: Did they tweak the connection?

in reply to ownedbyagirl84

Idk somethings definately wrong with mine thats for sure.

Level 6
Likes: 22
Posts: 195
Registered: ‎12-09-2011

Re: Did they tweak the connection?

in reply to ownedbyagirl84

The latest hotfixes they have pushed out seem to have made some difference for me too. 1.03 messed up the matchmaking and increased the lagging drastically for me, last week it was hard to kill anyone in nearly all matches. I took a break from playing and hopped back on Sunday night and this morning, I still get way too many matches with lag issues in them so i cannot consider the connection consistent or fixed, but i'm also getting into good lobbies again. I hope they keep this up and keep on improving.

Level 22
Likes: 400
Posts: 1384
Registered: ‎26-11-2012

Re: Did they tweak the connection?

in reply to Raketti

I spoke too soon. Now that's it evening time here and a lot more people are online, i'm getting only matches with nothing but lag. But then again that should not suprise me since starting from BO, followed by MW3 and now BO2 it seems the connection is worse for me when the player pool increases. The matchmaking should have better chances to do what it is supposed to when there are more people playing, but it just does the opposite and finds me lobbies with the majority having a 3bar and some with even only 1.

I've been doing suprisingly well, i might even get games with 2 or 3 K/D while collecting as many tags as possible on KC, but it requires flanking and avoiding any sort of short range gunfight thanks to the horrible connection. On the rare occasion when I'm the one on a 3bar, i find killing people even more difficult.

I'm working now to get my MSMC golden as that will be the last of the SMG's to do, and it frustrates me that when in do get in to 1v1 on short range, i seem to lose all the time, and even if win i need usually half or more of the clip even if i hit every single shot to get the kill.

It's a weird feeling, you are supposed to be having fun while playing, but even if you get a good gameplay you might be irritaded due to those excess deaths and scorestreaks cut short thanks to lag.

Level 22
Likes: 400
Posts: 1384
Registered: ‎26-11-2012
Highlighted

Re: Did they tweak the connection?

in reply to fingolfin33

Connectivity was transformed in to a b1tch since patch 1.03.

Level 19
Likes: 115
Posts: 763
Registered: ‎21-06-2011

Re: Did they tweak the connection?

in reply to fingolfin33

It was fine until a couple of days ago. In the 3-4 years I've been playing CoD, this is the first title that has actually made me throw my controller and headset to the floor.

So yes, I think they changed something.

Level 9
Likes: 42
Posts: 437
Registered: ‎15-12-2011

Re: Did they tweak the connection?

in reply to kellysa111

Lucky you. It's been 2 years and 3 weeks for me.

Actually, in hindsight, I'm lucky, I've dealt with this expectation, it's new for you.

Level 34
Likes: 662
Posts: 3682
Registered: ‎31-05-2011

Re: Did they tweak the connection?

in reply to fingolfin33

If you think about it the closed in maps would be hard on the connection. It would mean that there's more stuff going on at within a close proximity of eachother so there are more packets that need to be transfered in order for the game to be accurately portrayed to the party.

Bigger maps are slower paced so the demand on the packet transformation is less

Level 75
Likes: 5321
Posts: 13666
Registered: ‎17-09-2011

Re: Did they tweak the connection?

in reply to Ghamorra

That makes sense, I changed my router to Channel 11, since for America 1, 5, and 11 are fixed, as the rest jump around.  But also did an MTU test from my PC by pinging Yahoo, and changed my router and PS3 to 1492  instead of 1500, as that is the number where I had no packet loss.  Has played much better since then.  I've been wondering if people are getting packet loss issues, where things are held up and that could be contributing to what people see as lag.  Maybe if everyone got there settings to the point where their service can handle it some of that would go away.

Level 4
Likes: 6
Posts: 61
Registered: ‎06-01-2012

Studios