Lag compensation

Call of Duty Black Ops II Xbox 360

Re: Lag compensation

in reply to Scripter666

Pro tip read "Elagaphant" thread before you start discussions on lag comp. it will help you better understand your issues and give you some corrective actions to take that will improve your on lne gaming exerience. Good luck.

Thanks to Macabbi for all his networking wisdom.

Level 44
Likes: 842
Posts: 6388
Registered: ‎28-05-2011

Re: Lag compensation

in reply to Scripter666

right firstly i must point out that ive got infinity 2 weekends does not affect my speeds as they are always good and never drop under 70mb and no lower than 13 on upload this is weekends and evenings so the traffic management is out the question im well aware of what it is before you go in to detail.

secondly i have not got a bt homehub as i got rid of the standard setup and instead hooked myself up with a Vigor 2750, i know about networking my xbox is wired and not wireless i have no wireless devices connected and wireless is off at this time of day it is 17.01 and quite alot of people are on the net as its a weekend this is my current speed so dont comment and point the prob in my connection.

http://www.speedtest.net/result/2300969757.png>

it is a problem on there server maybe a script needs changing to stop the lag comp or maybe turn it down a bit as i have played with many people from uk and it isnt that and link i say when playing on xlink kai or xbs link via system link the problems not there so its something server related and getting very close to initial launch of game are they even aware of this problem

Level 1
Likes: 2
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎11-11-2012

Re: Lag compensation

in reply to Scripter666

Im just going to assume you didnt actually read any of my posts ..

Scripter666 wrote:

right firstly i must point out that ive got infinity 2 weekends does not affect my speeds as they are always good and never drop under 70mb and no lower than 13 on upload this is weekends and evenings so the traffic management is out the question im well aware of what it is before you go in to detail.

That is NOT speed, its BANDWIDTH, you shouldn't even have drops in bandwidth if your line quality is good, if its fluctuating that much from what you said you originaly had i'd be on the phone to bt asking why,

Also traffic management and traffic throttling do NOT change your bandwidth so running any number of bandwidth tests (which you keep refering to as speed tests) dont mean didlly squat. Traffic management affects how data (packets) is routed and carried at peak times so the isps own network doesnt grind to a halt. So no i dont think were really aware what it is. There are numerous tests you can do online to see if your isp employs any form of management google is your friend. but seriously stop using speedtest its pointless, if you must insist on these type of things at least do a pingtest to aserver far away in europe or america that will give  you and us a much better understanding of your line quality.

Scripter666 wrote:

secondly i have not got a bt homehub as i got rid of the standard setup and instead hooked myself up with a Vigor 2750, i know about networking my xbox is wired and not wireless i have no wireless devices connected and wireless is off at this time of day it is 17.01 and quite alot of people are on the net as its a weekend this is my current speed

http://www.speedtest.net/result/2300969757.png>

That is not your current speed, please read what i wrote in earlier posts. But props for not using the homehub i assume you have correctly set up the router, with the right ports forwarded? as you obviously know about networking as you stated i will assume also you've correctly setup the QoS on your router right?

Scripter666 wrote:

so dont comment and point the prob in my connection.

I was just pointing out where your post and knowledge was wrong (its nothing personal just posts like these cause more problems as the misconceptions about the game and networking persists) but again imho the problem is the fact the game is not out its that simple.

Scripter666 wrote:

it is a problem on there server maybe a script needs changing to stop the lag comp or maybe turn it down a bit as i have played with many people from uk and it isnt that and link i say when playing on xlink kai or xbs link via system link the problems not there so its something server related and getting very close to initial launch of game are they even aware of this problem

Again as you obviously also didnt bother to read this earlier

The game is not even out yet ...there is a tiny amount of people who have it, there isnt a problem with the game , obviously the game works fine when you play system linked or local as you arent going over the internet.

but free fell to ignore myself and others replies once again,

If i could suggest though with the greatest of respect wait till after the games out tuesday and then start commenting

Level 75
Likes: 4274
Posts: 15690
Registered: ‎31-05-2011

Re: Lag compensation

in reply to Maccabi

maccabi wrote:

Im just going to assume you didnt actually read any of my posts ..

Scripter666 wrote:

right firstly i must point out that ive got infinity 2 weekends does not affect my speeds as they are always good and never drop under 70mb and no lower than 13 on upload this is weekends and evenings so the traffic management is out the question im well aware of what it is before you go in to detail.

That is NOT speed, its BANDWIDTH, you shouldn't even have drops in bandwidth if your line quality is good, if its fluctuating that much from what you said you originaly had i'd be on the phone to bt asking why,

Also traffic management and traffic throttling do NOT change your bandwidth so running any number of bandwidth tests (which you keep refering to as speed tests) dont mean didlly squat. Traffic management affects how data (packets) is routed and carried at peak times so the isps own network doesnt grind to a halt. So no i dont think were really aware what it is. There are numerous tests you can do online to see if your isp employs any form of management google is your friend. but seriously stop using speedtest its pointless, if you must insist on these type of things at least do a pingtest to aserver far away in europe or america that will give  you and us a much better understanding of your line quality.

Scripter666 wrote:

secondly i have not got a bt homehub as i got rid of the standard setup and instead hooked myself up with a Vigor 2750, i know about networking my xbox is wired and not wireless i have no wireless devices connected and wireless is off at this time of day it is 17.01 and quite alot of people are on the net as its a weekend this is my current speed

http://www.speedtest.net/result/2300969757.png>

That is not your current speed, please read what i wrote in earlier posts. But props for not using the homehub i assume you have correctly set up the router, with the right ports forwarded? as you obviously know about networking as you stated i will assume also you've correctly setup the QoS on your router right?

Scripter666 wrote:

so dont comment and point the prob in my connection.

I was just pointing out where your post and knowledge was wrong (its nothing personal just posts like these cause more problems as the misconceptions about the game and networking persists) but again imho the problem is the fact the game is not out its that simple.

Scripter666 wrote:

it is a problem on there server maybe a script needs changing to stop the lag comp or maybe turn it down a bit as i have played with many people from uk and it isnt that and link i say when playing on xlink kai or xbs link via system link the problems not there so its something server related and getting very close to initial launch of game are they even aware of this problem

Again as you obviously also didnt bother to read this earlier

The game is not even out yet ...there is a tiny amount of people who have it, there isnt a problem with the game , obviously the game works fine when you play system linked or local as you arent going over the internet.

[RBM]


[RBM]

Level 1
Likes: 2
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎11-11-2012
Highlighted

Re: Lag compensation

in reply to Scripter666

Scripter666 wrote:


This just proves you dont know as much as me t

oh i assure you i do,

Scripter666 wrote:

[RBM]

[RBM]

but thank you as you have just PROVEN the point I have been saying all along. By using tunneling software you are bypassing the games own matchmaking system which PROVES the netcode is fine as you then stated the games playing fine for you, as thats the ONLY difference to running the game through xbl or via tunneling software ie the method by which you are placed into sessions.....and Thank you as I said original and have been from day one most problems people are having is due to matchmaking atm.

Just so you are completely 100% clear here.

You haven't changed the netcode of the game at all.

You have changed the method by which you connect to other players

You have stated the game plays fine when you do this.

You are still connected to players in exactly the same way as you would be had you used the games own matchmaking system.

Ergo the netcodes fine, matchmaking has issues which again incase you missed this the first few times, is what I have been saying from day one and something treyarch has already stated they would address with a few tweaks once they had more data.

Level 75
Likes: 4274
Posts: 15690
Registered: ‎31-05-2011

Re: Lag compensation

in reply to Maccabi

Maccabi, I don't mean to bash, but Treyarch had at least one year of data so that this could be tweaked. MW3 ran very similar to this game, but it didn't seem to be as prevalent as quickly. In less than one week, this game is ruined for me online.

Everyone has their hopes up that Treyarch will fix this issue. I don't see any possible way without launching a new netcode altogether, or better yet.... switch to dedicated servers. But that's another story, another game.....

Level 3
Likes: 19
Posts: 63
Registered: ‎03-08-2011

Re: Lag compensation

in reply to wildgator25

wildgator25 wrote:

Maccabi, I don't mean to bash, but Treyarch had at least one year of data so that this could be tweaked. MW3 ran very similar to this game, but it didn't seem to be as prevalent as quickly. In less than one week, this game is ruined for me online.

Everyone has their hopes up that Treyarch will fix this issue. I don't see any possible way without launching a new netcode altogether, or better yet.... switch to dedicated servers. But that's another story, another game.....

anf they took that data and did what any sesnible dev team would do and changed the way the game matchmakes.

Level 75
Likes: 4274
Posts: 15690
Registered: ‎31-05-2011

Re: Lag compensation

in reply to Maccabi

I'm just wondering how much 'tweakage' Treyarch have up their sleeves here. Perhaps changing a few config parameters to shape their data etc.. However, I very much doubt there's a silver bullet code-rewrite on the cards so if anyone is expecting that then you'll be disapointed. Treyarch will probably now be in maintenance/next-game mode (all of the coding would have been completed weeks ago).

Still, I haven't given up hope for said tweaks to be rolled out - it's still very early days.

Level 4
Likes: 11
Posts: 107
Registered: ‎10-06-2011

Studios