Black Ops II - Screen freeze problem during Campaign. Help?

Black Ops II Technical Support

Highlighted

Black Ops II - Screen freeze problem during Campaign. Help?

I was having problems with my Xbox 360: when playing this game the screen would freeze at the same place in the story each time!

At first, I thought the disc might need a clean, or that my machine was faulty. However, I've already completed the "Campaign" missions on this Xbox with this disc, and simply wanted to redo them to get Intel I'd missed. Even after giving my Xbox and disc a thorough clean; same problem. Alas, I feared the worst..........my old Xbox had finally died on me.

So, I purchased a brand new Xbox 360 AND another brand new copy of the game! However, even after changing the machine and the game, I GOT THE SAME PROBLEM!! The screen would freeze at the exact same point!?

I contacted an "Xbox Ambassador" for an online chat, but nothing I tried resolved this issue. If other players are also experiencing this same problem, then it must be a technical fault with the makers of the game - Activision.

For those interested, this is the error message I receive:

"Server script runtime error exceeded number of child server script variables. Terminal script error"

I haven't a clue what that means!?

Is anyone else having this problem?

Thanks.

Level 1
Likes: 2
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎12-12-2012
18 REPLIES

Re: Black Ops II - Screen freeze problem during Campaign. Help?

in reply to CheatKiller

Hey CheatKiller,

Sorry to hear you are experiencing freezing after getting a replacement disc and console. To help troubleshoot this issue, which chapter and checkpoint are you at so we can investigate. Also, have you tried installing the game disc to your Xbox? If not, please try the steps here: Manage Your Xbox Game Library | Download Xbox Games - Xbox.com , delete the BO2 Title Update following the steps here: Move Xbox Content | Copy or Move Xbox Content | Xbox 360 Storage - Xbox.com , and retry. Hope this helps. ^SM

Player Support
Likes: 238
Posts: 2289
Registered: ‎25-07-2012

Re: Black Ops II - Screen freeze problem during Campaign. Help?

in reply to ATVIAssist

Hi,

Thanks for the reply.

Yes, I have already been through all the recommended "fixes", and nothing worked. Even when I installed the game onto my new hard drive (after deleting all BO2 saved game files), this problem persists.

The screen freeze always occurs during the first mission in Campaign - the part where my character is carrying "Frank Woods" through the long grass. As I said, the screen freezes and the error message "Server script runtime error exceeded number of child server script variables. Terminal script error" appears.

Remember; this is a brand new Xbox 360 250GB and every other game works fine in it. I also contacted "Xbox Support" for help, and they too are stumped by this problem.

I simply wanted to replay the Campaign missions to collect the Intel I missed.

I have noticed other Xbox players reporting the same problem.

Cheers.

Level 1
Likes: 2
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎12-12-2012

Re: Black Ops II - Screen freeze problem during Campaign. Help?

in reply to CheatKiller

Thank you for the update. That is weird, unfortunately since you purchased a new Xbox 360 and new copy of the game. Because of that, game data also should't be the cause of this issue. We are aware that the campaign is working as intended, without any crashes or freezing, but unfortunately, you are still experiencing the issue. If you have the chance to try playing your new copy of the game on a different Xbox 360, please give it a try. If not, please try playing another copy of the game on your Xbox 360 to see if the same thing occurs in both situations. This may help determine the issue, since any other steps has been eliminated. Another thing you can try is to remove any available storage devices connected to your console and launch the campaign without saving anything. if you are able to bypass the crash, we would suggest trying to use a different storage device. ^SM

Player Support
Likes: 238
Posts: 2289
Registered: ‎25-07-2012

Re: Black Ops II - Screen freeze problem during Campaign. Help?

in reply to ATVIAssist

I have tried to play the Campaign on another console, and got the same problem!! I have tried everything you've suggested with no luck. As for playing the game without saving my progress, in order to see if it still freezes, that's totally pointless - it defeats the purpose of me replaying the missions.

After splashing out on a brand new console and a new copy of BO2, I REALLY would like to play this game. There are no faults with my new console, since every other game I play works just fine.

Level 1
Likes: 2
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎12-12-2012

Re: Black Ops II - Screen freeze problem during Campaign. Help?

in reply to CheatKiller

Now, when you are playing through the mission are you attempting to navigate outside of the designated area, or performing actions that are not supposed to regularly occur within the game?

The error you are receiving sounds like there is a progression break that occurred. This means that if you some how traveled out of the zone, or somehow performed an action that would affect what occurs next (example being killing enemies before they were scripted to speak) then this would be a byproduct of it.

^JG

ATVI Support

Community Coordinator
Likes: 993
Posts: 6526
Registered: ‎04-06-2013

Re: Black Ops II - Screen freeze problem during Campaign. Help?

in reply to Seanicus23

No.

I am simply following the route. As I've said before   - the screen freezes during the very first mission, in the part where I'm dragging an injured "Woods" through the long grass in the jungle. Our character's have just left the barn and continue to hide in the grass from the enemy soldiers.

I never leave the confines of the game. I simply follow the route that's indicated.

I do know what you mean though:- if I did get spotted by, or kill the wrong people in the game, I am told this on screen and have to restart from the previous checkpoint.

However, I do not leave the zone of the game.

Level 1
Likes: 2
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎12-12-2012

Re: Black Ops II - Screen freeze problem during Campaign. Help?

in reply to Seanicus23

DOES ANYONE KNOW HOW TO FIX THIS PROBLEM?

Well, I guess that means the game is a dud then?! I certainly can't play the "CAMPAIGN" missions any more. And as I've already stated in my previous comments, there isn't a fault in any of MY equipment - even after paying for a brand new Xbox 360 and a new copy of the game I get the same fault.

Not happy.

Level 1
Likes: 2
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎12-12-2012

Re: Black Ops II - Screen freeze problem during Campaign. Help?

in reply to CheatKiller

Hi CheatKiller,

We'll look into the matter.  Please let us know which difficulty setting you are trying to replay the campaign on (Recruit, Regular, Hardened, or Veteran).  Also, does the issue occur for you on all of these settings or just one?

Thanks ^AH

Community Coordinator
Likes: 325
Posts: 2471
Registered: ‎27-06-2013

Re: Black Ops II - Screen freeze problem during Campaign. Help?

in reply to _KidA_

This problem happens in every difficulty setting. It makes no difference at all. The screen still freezes at the same point.

(Please refer to my earlier posts for details)

Thanks.

Level 1
Likes: 2
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎12-12-2012

Studios