1 10 11 12 13 14 Previous Next 155 Replies Latest reply: Jan 9, 2014 11:47 AM by ExtremeKiller70 Go to original post RSS
      • 110. Re: Lag Comp Needs to be dialed back a bit.
        nuttin2say

I was merely pointing out the pedantic nature of "I'm an expert" claims. But, since we have to be specific about titles, then I'll remain specific about the name of the issue. Lag and lag compensation are two different things.

You know, it is really hilarious how you guys get all worked up over someone pointing out details ... but then excuse yourself from those details. The bottom line is that whatever method the game uses to "balance" connectivity, interpolation assures constant and consistent adjustment. But because there can be no consistency between multiple connections, which you know, you're not going to get 100% consistent outcomes.

There's millions of people playing this game every single day. At any given moment, there are millions of events happening in 1000s of matches. The likelihood of seeing something that doesn't fit the mold, while statistically small, is numerically highly likely. Yet, knowing that, people want to come in and point out the 10 times something weird happened over the course of three or four hours of gameplay. If it isn't that, you have the small percentage of players who "consistently" experience lag (or "lag comp") throughout their gameplay. While there's no doubt that happens - it happened to me for a long time, for pete's sake - what that small percentage fails to comprehend is that the issue cannot possibly be with netcode or "rewinding" or any of the other highfalutin terms people want to apply. While on "I'll call it whatever I want," that's part of the problem - calling a lesion a cancer.

You're going the wrong direction on "teaching" me about etymology. "Pristine" gets its modern connotation because if something is ancient, it is closest to its original condition. Hence, "new or good condition."