24 Replies Latest reply: Nov 22, 2012 8:03 AM by Hamster_Botherer RSS

Lag Comp - What is your PING?

I really wanted to start a thread complaining and raging about lag comp, but no point,  most of you are expereincing it also and it doesn't seem like Activision is even looking at these forums.

Let me start by saying I'm by no means an expert on any of this...(so please don't jump all over me, I'm just going by my connection and what I've experienced)

However one thing I'm seeing on here as well as youtube... most people seem to think their gaming connection and lag comp  is determined by their download and upload speeds. unfortunately the PS3 conenction test is very flawed because it doesn't show whats most important regarding your connection. Your PING.

People assume because they have slow download or upload speeds they have bad internet connection for gaming. Not true.

Download and upload speeds actually mean very little at all. I have proven this over and over again with my own connection.

I currently have 25MB download speed, and 3.5MB upload speed. generally with about a 5-10ms ping which is extremely low. I recently lowered my internet plan to 3MB download hoping this would also RAISE my ping. Unfortunatly it didn't, my ping remained the same. Blops 2 also played the same.

The fact is thorugh your router you can lower your DL and UL speeds. I can lower mine to like 1MB DL, and 40KB UL, and even stream a netflix movie while playing.... game still plays the same because my ping is so low.

So I thought instead of people just talking about their internet speeds.... how about we share our actually speeds more accurately and descrine how the game plays for you good or bad. Seeing the ping from eveyone says alot more than anything else in my opinion.

So, go to speed.net and post your results.

http://www.speedtest.net/result/2323165271.png   (DL 25.09, UL 3.64, PING 5ms)