11 Replies Latest reply: Aug 27, 2013 2:29 PM by nicedrewishfela RSS

Time to update the ladder system?

nVizion

This is how I "think" the ladder system works, after 400 solo wins and having played with tons of teams. Do not take any of the information for granted, as I do not know if this is how it actually works. Also, I will only talk about the Champions Series, not the Moshpit Series, as I'm not experienced with that.

-----

If you're in the placement ranks (solo), and you haven't played in any of the previous seasons, your rank will be determined by two things; how many wins/losses you get during the placement ranks, and what the enemy ranks are.

So if you win 5/5 games, and the enemy ranks are all below "Gold", you'll probably be put into any of the divisions below "Gold".

If you win 4/5 games, but in two of the games, the entire enemy team was ranked "Masters", you might get into "Gold", or even "Platinum".

So you do not need to win all of your games, as long as you beat high-ranked enemies.

When it comes to placement games of teams, it's more likely that you'll be placed in Gold/Platinum, as long as you win 4/5 games, even though the enemies were all Irons.. I don't know why, but that's what I've experienced from 20+ different teams.

-----

If you have played in a previous season, the ranking system will take that into account, and "boost" your new rank. So if you used to be in Gold, and you win only 2/5 placement games, you'll still get into Gold, and if you win 4/5 placement games, you might even get Platinum. Easy, huh? This is because the ranking system knows how good you really are, based on the previous season-rank. If you were in Masters, you'll probably be ranked Platinum, then you'll have to win a couple of games, and woahla, you're in Masters again.

Okay, done with the placement games. How do you advance through the divisions, and how does the ladder-point system work, after each win or loss?