29 Replies Latest reply: May 23, 2013 8:36 AM by AssassinVirus RSS

Treyarch vs Infinity Ward.

Im new to the COD community, Coming mostly from Battlefield games i am very confused to how theres two companys under the same title.

Its the first i have ever heard of for an FPS, So i though't id start a topic on whats the pro's and con's of each company. And maybe any tips on gameplay between different game engines...I apologise if there is already a topic about this.

• Re: Treyarch vs Infinity Ward.
    reformedplayer

up in the air still infinityward hasz gone through managment change

and treyarc has forsaken the community

Foxhound-Pro

There has not been one in a while, but this is generally considered a "banned" discussion due to the conflict it creates.

All opinions are entirely subjective and the studios have changed very much since their starting days. My advice is to play their SP to understand how they progress with that and then play MP from the latest two titles for a view on their differences.

trollinthunder

Each developer takes turns developing a game every other year.  Each developer gets 2 years to devlop a game and release it.  2007 was IW, 2008 was Treyarch, 2009 was IW, and so on and so forth.  They both use the same engine with minor tweaks and changes to suit the game. Start with single player for IW games (COD4, MW2, and most recently, MW3).  Then for Treyarch games, play Black Ops 1 and Black Ops 2.  You could also play World at War, even though it there is no relation to the Black Ops side of thing.  A lot of features have been added to both, so they take ideas from each other and implement them, they work together and support each other without actually working together.  They learn from each others games.

Treyarch

Pros

• Zombies mode.  Your classic wave defense mode that sends endless hoardes of Zombies at you and is great to play with friends. It also has a really cool back story if you really get into it.