25 Replies Latest reply: Feb 16, 2013 1:09 PM by kidxakamaru RSS

Business Law 101 ~ For New COD players!

Izjar11

COD,

Today this forum has be engulfed with (I apologize) Ignorance about DLC release / contractual obligations / greed, what ever.

I am not a lawyer. What I offer below is my understanding of how a contract works and is not legal advice in any way, shape, or form.

Since it appears that some people aren’t familiar with the concept of a contract, here’s some background:

A contract is an agreement entered into voluntarily by two parties or more with the intention of creating a legal obligation, which may have elements in writing, though contracts can be made orally. [snip]  A contract is a legally enforceable promise or undertaking that something will or will not occur.

That’s right. A contract is simply an agreement of “here is how this interaction will work.”

I understand many who come here have no business law knowldge but know this most contracts have two important clauses of interest:

• There’s usually a clause that says something along the lines of “this agreement is the whole thing and supersedes everything else.” Basically, that means “it doesn’t matter what we agreed to previously, this is what we’re actually agreeing to.”
  • The other clause offers a way to amend the contract. It usually requires it to be in writing and agreed to by both sides. What constitutes “agreement” varies, so ask an attorney on that one.

So, throughout today's postings one of that things that has struck me as ignorant or odd – beyond the absurdity and ongoing secrecy – is their repeated offers to “lets revolt, lets stand up” and “make things right for the PS# player” without actually knowing what they are asking.

The matter of fact is that the current contract that gives XBOX first release WILL NOT CHANGE! This decision is not ours, its between two businesses who choose this as a financial gain!

• Re: Misguided Miscreants (Part 2)
    gambit1969