13 Replies Latest reply: Jan 24, 2013 12:30 PM by Run_N_Gunning_Camper RSS

Sound systems...

I am intrigued as to what sound systems people use when playing BLOPS2.

Let me explain, I am relatively new to the whole CoD world with BLOPS2 being the first Xbox based version I have really played and I must say I am really enjoying it, even though I am rubbish. So naturally I am looking at everything that can improve my gameplay (a set of thumbs that actually do what my brain is telling them might help!).

I have a big telly, a relatively new Xbox and suitably fast internet (74meg down, 18meg up), all good. But, I am using the sound output from the TV, and lets face it, sound from modern TVs is rather pants. So, as I say, I am intrigued as to what others are using, be it similar to what I have to full 7 speaker surround sound or some all singing, all dancing headset. And, how much effect you think it has on your gameplay.

Cheers all.

• Re: Sound systems...
    DR65DR

Get yourself a set of Astro A40s with their MixAmp. In all seriousness, I just couldn't go back to using TV speakers these days. No, you won't hear enemy footsteps in Blops 2 any better, but they still beat loud speakers every time.

Particularly if you have an angry wife who even hates the fact that you still play games at our ages.

Cheers, just looked those up, they look the business! I'll see what the general consensus of opinion is, but there is a fair chance I'll be getting hold of a set.

As for wife, well she's not so angry, she usually just huffs and puffs, takes herself off to bed and then shortly after, texts me to turn the volume down - my volume, i.e the screams of frustration coming out of my mouth!!!! Hmmm, don't think a headset will remedy that!

I just have a set of KRK Rockit 8s on my desk, so I normally just play with a Creative tactic 3d headset.  It's alright.

I guess that makes more sense if I say that I play on a 28' computer monitor.