31 Replies Latest reply: Dec 7, 2012 12:28 PM by Cronkd RSS

Skill Based Matchmaking - My Experience

Hello community,

I just wanted to share my experience with Skill based matchmaking. I play Free for all about 90% of the time since MW2 and have become pretty good at it. I started playing BO2 and wasn't doing as well as in past games. I thought, "No biggie, it's still a new game and I need to make some adjustments." After a week of still not getting any better, I learned about the skill based matchmaking and it made sense. I'm level 50 on my 2nd prestige and  about everyone in the lobbies I join is at least on there 1st prestige with above 300 SPM. Usually 3-4 prestige. They're good! I can compete with them but I rarely win a match whereas in MW3, BO1, and ESPECIALLY MW2 I would win about 95% of all the FFA's I was in.

After learning this I went to my friends list and found someone playing FFA who was only a level 23 no prestige and joined there lobby. I went 30-3 the first time and one every game after that by at least 15 kills. It was a massacre.

My opinion on the subject is that I preferred the variety. I don't want to always be playing with really great players ALL DAY. I want some great players, some good ones, and some OK ones like it's always been. Isn't that why we have league play?

This isn't a huge issue for me as I am still enjoying the game, I'm just not doing anywhere near as well as I used to.

Anyone have any feedback or thoughts? Is everyone expereincing this as well?

• Re: Skill Based Matchmaking - My Experience

Struggling to understand why people are complaining about this.

Run_N_Gunning_Camper

Treyarch is also struggling to understand that not everyone wants to play like a Pro. That's why the League Play is a disaster. It's decent but it's a disaster. Just look at the number of people playing on it.