16 Replies Latest reply: Aug 27, 2012 8:23 AM by P2PmatchingSUX Branched to a new discussion. RSS

I made a big decision today: No More COD For Me, Ever

I'm 45 years old. I have been gaming since 1976. I actually *owned* a games company. One of my RTS games went to #1 on re-release in the last 6 years. I know how to make games. I know how to support gamers (and I made *lots* of mistakes while learning). I have spent about $30,000 on hardware and about $10,000 on games since 1990. I have 100Mbs internet, a dedicated gaming router, and a dedicated gaming PC.  I've ranked in the top 10% of Battlefield, and being in top quartile of most MW games.

I spent at least 4000 hours learning FPS games from Quake III through Unreal, Battlefield and now COD.

And now I am just not going to bother any more. Ever.

How bad does a game experience have to be to make someone as dedicated as me give up?

Let me explain: it is the P2P matching service. Just that. It is broken. It could never have worked (actually, it could be better, I'll explain later). It does not work. It is just plain horrible. Recently IW and Activision actually managed to make it worse, which is, frankly, beyond belief. They made this worse by punishing people who invest in good bandwidth and good hardware.

I live in the UK. For some reason, no one at Activision or IW understands that "the speed of light is not a chew toy", and they think it reasonable to match me with players in Moscow, Sophia (Hungary), Southern Spain, and the East Coast of the USA. Sometimes all at once. They won't let me filter my connections by ping. They won't even let me see the ping times. They have some crappy green bars that mean nothing, and they won't let me see those until after I am commited to a game. When I could see some decent information (in MW2 by amending the config file), they took that away in MW3

Then they apply a "lag compensation" to an already broken idea. This is putting toxic lipstick on a dead and rotting pig.